How to meditate

Happy Friday everyone!

Those of you who take PVYU classes know that we always finish out with a 15 minute meditation at the end of every class.  For me, this portion of the practice is golden time!  I love flowing and moving as much as anyone else, but I think that the relaxing and peaceful feelings that seated meditation can provide  are totally incomparable to anything that the physical practice has to offer.

I’ve noticed that a daily meditation practice makes me less likely to be reactive in challenging situations, helps me to sleep better at night, and even seems to affect how often I get a cold! More than anything else though, I’ve found that a regular meditation practice helps me to feel totally comfortable in my skin.  When I’m finished with a practice, I often feel completely at ease when I interact with others  and really content with just being me.  As far as I’m concerned that feeling is more amazing than even the coolest arm-balance or deepest backbend.

This week, I thought that I’d throw out some tips that will help you meditate at home so that you can have a go at it yourself.  Consider giving it a go for five to 15 minutes per day this next week and watch the stress melt away!

Let me know how it goes!

6 responses to “How to meditate

  1. My goal is 5 minutes meditation each day this week. I’m a newbie yoga student and have to set small goals for myself. I certainly need the calming practice!
    Thanks.

  2. Nice LuAnn! Happy practice. 🙂

  3. Hey David! I have been keeping up with a strong Ashtanga practice for my pregnancy and having this video is really helpful. It’s tough to meditate when you have a mover kicking your ribs. I have to say the new little girl finds great joy in my shoulder stands!

    Later! Jennifer

    • Hi Jennifer,

      I’m glad that you liked the video! It’s really great that you’ve been keeping up with your Ashtanga practice. I’ll bet that your little girl does find joy in those shoulder stands. With all that prenatal practice, I have a suspicion that she might turn out to be a great yogini one day. 🙂

  4. Robert and Lisa

    Hi David, Its great to practice a meditation with you again, even if remotely! We miss your excellent classes in Boston – we are now out in Salt Lake City, UT so let us know if you drop by for some world class skiing.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks you two! I didn’t know that the two of you had moved. A bummer for us.

      I love to ski, so if I’m ever in your neck of the woods, I’m definitely looking you up. 🙂

      Be well!

Leave a Reply

